You are here
Home > Latest Posts > News > Vendors > HTC > HTC to livestream the launch of its U-branded smartphones tomorrow

HTC to livestream the launch of its U-branded smartphones tomorrow


HTC has been teasing the U alphabet since December, last year and most of the rumors that have come up since then give us a hint at some of the upcoming mobile handset devices that HTC is working on behind the scenes.

We now have the official confirmation from HTC about the launch of its U smartphones and that is tomorrow, January 12, 2017. HTC outed a new teaser video for public on YouTube today and is willing enough to live stream the event on at 4 PM Taiwan time which translates to 12 AM PST, 3 AM EST, 8 AM GMT, 9 AM CET, 1:30 PM IST.

We recently reported about the rumored HTC X10 specs and now we have some more leaked information about some other devices that HTC may launch tomorrow.

HTC U Play

The HTC U Play comes with a 5.2-inch Full HD display, Helio P10 chipset paired with 3GB RAM and 32 GB of internal storage. It has a 16 MP front/back camera combo.

HTC U Play leak

There is a fingerprint reader at the front and to keep the lights on, the phone houses a average sized 2,500 mAh battery. HTC is dropping the 3.5mm audio jack just like we have seen with the HTC 10 evo/HTC Bolt.

HTC U Ultra

This is HTC’s flagship as is being reported.

It has a 6.0-inch QHD screen, Qualcomm Snapdragon 835, 4GB of RAM and 64GB of internal storage.


A dual-lens camera on the back – 24MP + 13 MP. A 16 MP front facing camera. Unlike the HTC U Play,  fingerprint sensor is positioned on the back and there is 4,000 mAh battery.

The U Ultra also lacks a 3.5mm audio jack, just like the U Play.


In the meanwhile, you can also download some wallpapers from HTC Ocean Note, leaked by ‏@LlabTooFeR on twitter.

Are you excited about HTC U event? Do let us know in the comments below.

Shafat has more than 5 years of Tech journalism experience. He likes to write about latest Tech and Gadgets. He is a proud Lumia 950 owner and Windows fan. He has been covering Tech and Gadget news on other well-known Tech sites WinCentral and Nokiapoweruser since long. He loves to code and is a proficient developer. Write to him at Email: [email protected]