Personal messaging app, Viber has been updated for iOS and Android with a neat new feature called “Secret Messages”.
The Secret Messages feature allows a user to set a timer on messages, if you think you should, before you share it with a friend. It almost works the same way like Snapchat, with messages getting self-destruct (either 1, 3, 7, or 10 seconds) as soon as the other party views the message.
Once the receiver finishes viewing, it is removed from their chat history but leaves a trace in yours, for the future reference.
Watch the video below to get a better idea of how the feature is expected to work.
Here is how to get started:
Simply take a picture or video using the Viber camera or choose one from your gallery, set a time-limit and send. Once the media is opened on the recipient’s end, the secret message will be visible for the time set (or, for videos, the duration of the video) and then it will disappear, without a trace.
In addition, the company has also enabled Instant video messages. Simply tap and hold the instant video icon to capture the moment with 30-second videos and release to send.
To learn more about Secret Messages, head to this page
Grab the update by visiting the respective app store below.